SunBurzt – Vårsånger


Argali Records Netlabel is proud to present “Vårsånger”, just in time for Beltane. Five tracks of experimental folktronica, modern versions of traditional Sweish spring folk songs.

“Dmitry Vlasov’s involvement with music could be traced back to 2004, when he started to produce music together with his friends in Moscow, Russia, as Werk 84, almost instantly committing himself to making an unique breed of folktronica with bagpipes, guitars and analogue synthesizers, refusing to work with VSTi technology, DAW, or any kind of digital processing. In 2007 he sent a demo recording to one of the earliest and influential industrial music netlabels in Russia, .NBK Records, and got involved into a netlabel community and collaboration with the owner of the netlabel. Werk 84, later on renamed to SunBurzt, along with neofolk bands For Faith and Ostov (featuring Dmitry), marked their presence within the Russian industrial music community by a chain of albums (including a 7-inch vinyl), compilation tracks, live performances (playing on a same stage with Danish neofolk project Of the Wand & the Moon) and collaborations with many bands and projects in Russia, Israel, and northern Europe.

After the demise of the netlabel, followed by death of its owner in 2010, Dmitry started another project, Meklabor, primarily collaborating with European and American artists, such as Ars Sonor (Sweden), The Implicit Order (USA), Mystified (USA), Ethnomite Pux (UK), and many others. For Faith / Ostov transformed into a stoner / doom metal band Jarzvet, and the earlier, more improvisational incarnation of Werk 84 came into existence again as Hidden Glow.

In 2018 Dmitry decided to resurrect SunBurzt, working this time with Linnea Shannon Friberg (an electronic music producer and Reiki Master from Stockholm, Sweden, owner of a production company Chrysalis Core, and a part of a ‘slipstream trance’ project Tuatha), who contributed her vocals to this EP consisting of modern versions of traditional Swedish spring songs by Anna Maria Roos, Johan Ludvig Runeberg, Gunnar Wennerberg, Julia Nyberg a.k.a. Euphrosyne, and Herman Sätherberg.

released May 1, 2018

Dmitry Vlasov: music, mixing
Linnea Shannon Friberg: vocals, additional synths and samples
Chrysalis Core: additional mixing, mastering

~ by John Lithium on May 1, 2018.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: